New Directions in Mobile Media and Performance(2018)

Camille C Baker, PhD

media artist | researcher

 

From New Directions in Mobile Media and Performance (August 16, 2018) Routledge, Taylor & Francis Features Artists from the book and their project or profile webpages to follow up on their work here (in Chapter order)

mobile media within evolving performance practices

Blast Theory https://www.blasttheory.co.uk/ and Uncle Roy All Around You (2005) http://www.blasttheory.co.uk/bt/work_uncleroy.html

Mixed Reality Lab https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/research/groups/mixedrealitylab/projects/projects.aspx

The Pervasive Media Studio http://www.watershed.co.uk/studio/projects

Invisible Flock http://invisibleflock.com

Circumference Productions - Shelter Me (2015), https://www.circumference.org.uk/projects

Steve HawleySpeech Marks (2004) http://www.stevehawley.info/Speech_Marks.html

Giselle Beiguelman - sometimes always, sometimes never (2005) http://www.desvirtual.com/sometimes/never/index.htm and sometimes always video http://www.desvirtual.com/sometimes/always/video.htm and http://www.desvirtual.com/sometimes/never/video.htm

Mark Amerika www.markamerika.com/ Mobile Phone Video Art Classics (2007) http://markamerika.com/artworks/mobile-phone-video-art-classics-by-mark-amerika and Immobilité (2009) http://markamerika.com/artworks/immobilite-mark-amerika

Guiliano Chiaradia - 5#CALLS (2012) https://setexperimental.wordpress.com/2013/11/23/5callsproject-english/

Antoine Geiger SUR-FAKE (2015) http://www.antoinegeiger.com/SUR-FAKE

Benoît Maubrey - Audio Ballerinas (1989) http://www.benoitmaubrey.com/

Isa GordonCyberFashion Psymbiote (2004-present) http://psymbiote.org/index.html

whisper[s] project (2003-2005) http://whisper.iat.sfu.ca/index_flash.html Thecla Schiphorst https://www.sfu.ca/~tschipho/

Yanko Design - Skintile (2007) http://www.yankodesign.com/2007/10/15/skintile-the-electronic-sensing-jewelry/

Philips Design Design Probes SKIN (2006) http://www.vhmdesignfutures.com/project/224/ and https://www.dezeen.com/2007/10/12/design-probes-2007-by-philips-design-at-dutch-design-week/

Bare Conductive (2009) https://www.bareconductive.com and early visions at Innovate10 and https://www.nextnature.net/2009/04/conductive-bodypaint/

Luiz Gustavo Ferreira Zanotello - NAMA (2012)] http://luizzanotello.com/projects/nama/

Ewelina Aleksandrowicz and Andrzej Wojtas - barbwired (2009) https://fashioningtech.com/2010/02/03/wearable- instruments-and-performance-art/ and http://hybrid-universe-emulation.net/about

Kaho Abe - Prototype 2 (2013) http://kahoabe.net/?portfolio=costumes-as-game-controllers

Mi.mu Limited Mi.mu Gloves (2012 - present) https://mimugloves.com and video http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=EGrAfWx6P4U and the official info at Imogen Heap's site http://www.imogenheap.co.uk/thegloves/

Atau Tanaka - http://www.ataut.net Sony Computer Science Laboratory (2001-2007) http://www.ataut.net/site/Biosignal-Gesture-Identification and Professor of Media Computing at Goldsmiths http://eavi.goldsmithsdigital.com/staff/prof-atau-tanaka/

Marco Donnarumma - http://marcodonnarumma.com/ Hypo Chrysos (2012) https://marcodonnarumma.com/works/hypo-chrysos/

DAP-Lab METABODY Project - Johannes Birringer and Michelle Danjoux (2014-16) http://people.brunel.ac.uk/dap/metabody%20archive.html

Afroditi Psarra - Idoru() (2013) http://afroditipsarra.com

Marina Castan - The Wearable Fashion Orchestra (2014) https://marinacastan.wordpress.com/2015/05/11/the-wearable-fashion-orchestra-2014/ the video of it here: https://vimeo.com/107462260

Kasia Molga - Human Sensor with Invisible Dust (2016) http://invisibledust.com/artists/kasia-molga/

Kieun KimRevealuxion Version ii-1 /r (2015) http://www.revealuxion.com, the video https://vimeo.com/kieunkim and Kim’s portfolio http://kieunkim.com/#/revealuxion/

BeAnotherLab - The Machine to be Another (2015) http://www.themachinetobeanother.org

Lorna Moore - In[bodi]mental (2011) http://lornamooreartist/inbodimental

Noemi Dumitrescu & TrendscendencePrototype (Phase 1) (2016) http://www.trendscendencelivehere.com/prototype1.html

Mark Farid - Seeing I (2017 - present) http://www.seeing-i.co.uk

Field - Quasar (2015) https://www.field.io/project/quasar/

The Constitute - EYESECT (2013-14) http://theconstitute.org/eyesect/

Kate Genevieve (née Vega) / chroma.Space - NO PLACE (2011) http://chroma.space/projects/no-place

Maskomi / Lee Robinson- NOX (2017) http://maskomi.com and video teaser https://vimeo.com/241544567

Cyberraeuber - Memories of the Borderline (2017) http://wp11159761.server-he.de/vtheater/en/home-2/ profile on Ars Electronica website https://www.aec.at/aeblog/en/2017/11/08/vr-theater-cyberraeuber/ and http://wp11159761.server-he.de/vtheater/de/memories-of-borderline/

Susan Kozel & Jeannette GinslovAffeXity: Passages and Tunnels (2012) http://livingarchives.mah.se/affexity-passages-and-tunnels/ and http://jeannetteginslov.weebly.com/affexity.html 

Jeannette Ginslov - P(AR)ticipate (2014) http://www.jginslov.com/participate.html

Margarita Benitez and Markus Vogl - S.A.R.A )2012) http://benitezvogl.com/s-a-r-a

Studio for Electronic Theatre - WE (2016) http://www.setlab.eu / http://setlab.eu/production/we/index.html


Artist Interviews

Atau Tanaka & Adam Parkinson - iPhone 4 Hands: Mobile Musical Interface (2007)

Sander Veenhof - Multiple AR projects http://sndrv.nl/?subindex=augmentedreality

Eunice Gonçalves Duarte - Xistórias (2010) http://semaforo.cc/portfolio/xistorias/

Eduardo Duda Valle - experimance (2015) http://cargocollective.com/htlt

La Fura del Baus / Jürgen Müller, cofounder - M.U.R.S. (2014) see their trailer, Brazil, October 2016: http://www.lafura.com/en/news/el-smartshow-m-u-r-s-se-instala-en-brasil/ and https://youtu.be/F1enDmTd9yA

Their website here: www.lafura.com and Facebook page: www.facebook.com/furadelsbaus

Dani Ploeger - Multiple Performance Art works http://www.daniploeger.org

Studio for Electronic Theatre (SET) / Fahrudin Nuno Salihbegovic - WE (2016) http://www.setlab.eu/ / http://setlab.eu/production/we/index.html

Bushra Burge - Dark Matter, Dark Energy (2016-17) http://www.bushraburge.com / project page http://www.bushraburge.com/#/vrdark1/

Kim-Leigh Pontin - Human Imagination Task Force (2016) http://design-inklings.tumblr.com and Woman of Wearables Profile https://www.womenofwearables.com/new-blog/wow-woman-in-vr-kim-leigh-pontin-creative-interaction-director-at-sky